John W. Hoglund Award

About the Award

John W. Hoglund served as the director of the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute for 22 years, from 1970-1992, and as Director Emeritus until his passing in 2020. Hoglund was a nationally renowned leader in the fields of firefighting education, fire prevention and public safety.
Hoglund was a member and officer of the International Society for Fire Service Instructors, served on the Joint Council of National Fire Service Organizations and was a founding member of the National Professional Qualifications board formed in 1972. He chaired the National Fire Protection Association's Technical Committee on Fire Service Training and Education for 17 years. Hoglund was a former president of the Maryland Fire Chiefs Association and was honored to serve as its chaplain for many years. During his career, Hoglund was also honored for his work as a champion of diversity in the fire service.

The Maryland Chief Officers Seminar was renamed the John W. Hoglund Maryland Officers Seminar in his honor and he was inducted into the Maryland State Firemen's Association's Hall of Fame in 1989 for his contributions to the Maryland fire service.

Hoglund loved the International Fire Service Training Association and they loved him back. He served on IFSTA’s Executive Board from 1983 until his passing in 2020. His many awards and recognitions included receiving IFSTA's coveted Everett Hudiburg Award for significant contributions to the training of fire service personnel.

2021 Award Recipient

Paul Valentine

Paul Valentine, past Executive Board Vice Chair, was awarded the John W. Hoglund Award during the International Fire Service Training Association’s 88th Annual Validation Conference in July 2021.

Valentine was active with IFSTA for more than 15 years, beginning in 2001. During his tenure, he served as the vice chair of the executive board for several years. His contributions to IFSTA and the executive board are considerable. He co-authored several IFSTA manuals and served on many IFSTA validation committees. Valentine remained active in other fire service organizations throughout his time on the executive board.

Learn More

Past Recipients

Please wait while we process your order.

This process may take a few seconds, please be patient.