Anne Phillips Award

Ifsta Logo              CFSI Logo


The Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) and the International Fire Service Training Association at Fire Protection Publications, Oklahoma State University (IFSTA/FPP/OSU) jointly sponsor the Dr. Anne W. Phillips Award for Leadership in Fire Safety Education. Established in 2007, the Phillips Award is presented annually at the National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner for outstanding achievement in public fire safety education.

Named for Dr. Anne W. Phillips, a surgeon who treated burn injuries, the award honors her outstanding achievements as a champion of fire prevention education to teach the public to be more fire safe, and celebrates her role as a leader whose exemplary work in fire safety education has had a lasting impact on the nation's safety. As a member of the National Commission on Fire Prevention and Control, Phillips authored the 1973 Minority Report, to America Burning, pushing the Commission to recognize the important role of prevention in reducing fire injuries and deaths. Throughout her life, Dr. Phillips demonstrated an unwavering dedication to fire prevention and preparedness as the basis to strengthen fire safety education across the country. Her goal was to end fire deaths and burn injuries. The award named in her honor strives to keep the work and spirit of Dr. Phillips alive by celebrating those who follow her example to move the field of fire safety forward. The award honors advocates who have made, over time, significant contributions to the advancement of public fire safety education on the national level.




2007Jim Dalton2008Nancy Trench
2009Pat Mieszala2010Sharon Gamache
2011Peg Carson2012Meri-K Appy
2013Jim Crawford2014Mary Marchone
2015Catherine B. Lohr and Pamela A. Powell2016Gerry Bassett
2017Marsha P. Giesler2018Mike Weller
2019Ernest Grant



Please wait while we process your order.

This process may take a few seconds, please be patient.