Chief Dennis Compton Honored with James O. Page EMS Achievement Award

Chief Dennis Compton has been named the 2016 recipient of the James O. Page EMS Achievement Award. The annual award is presented to a leader who has made a positive impact on a national scale, creating and promoting non-clinical innovation and achievements in fire service EMS management.

Currently serving as chairman of the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation, Compton has established a long and successful career in the fire service. With more than 32 years of experience, Compton has served as the assistant fire chief in Phoenix as well as the fire chief in Mesa. He is as past chairman of the International Fire Service Training Association and past chairman of the Congressional Fire Services Institute. Compton continues to support fire-based EMS in his role as co-chairman of the Fire-Service Based EMS Advocates.

“Chief Dennis Compton was awarded the James O. Page EMS Achievement Award in recognition of his long time service to, and support of, fire-based EMS. Dennis continues to be a passionate advocate for fire-based EMS. Dennis’ work raises the profile of fire-based EMS on a national level and helps ensure fire departments have the tools they need to serve their communities.” said Chief David Becker, chair of the EMS Section.

Becker along with award sponsors Physio-Control presented the award to Compton at the recent general session of Fire-Rescue Med, a leading, national educational forum for fire-based EMS officials hosted by the IAFC.

Compton joins an impressive cadre of EMS notables who are previous James O. Page Award winners (PDF). The award seeks to honor those who demonstrate enthusiasm and dedication toward fire-based EMS, professionalism and vision, a desire for achievement, a drive for excellence, and exemplary performance and leadership.

Please wait while we process your order.

This process may take a few seconds, please be patient.