## **July 2007**

## **IFSTA Elects New Executive Board Members**

IFSTA held its 2007 Executive Board election at the 74th Annual IFSTA Validation Conference in Tulsa, OK, on July 10, 2007. Three incumbent members were reelected: Dennis Compton, fire chief (ret.) Mesa, AZ, FD; Frank Cotton, battalion chief, Memphis, TN, FD; and Wes Kitchel, captain, Santa Rosa, CA, FD. Also reappointed for an additional three-year term was Chief David Daniels of the Renton, WA, FD. Chief Daniels represents the IAFC Safety, Health, and Survival Section on the IFSTA board.

Fire Chief Stephen Ashbrock of the Madeira & Indian Hills Joint FD in Cincinnati, OH, rejoined the board after serving two terms from 1998 to 2004. He began his fire service career as a firefighter-paramedic with the Reading, OH, FD in 1978. He became chief of that department before moving to Madeira & Indian Hills in 1999. Steve holds undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Cincinnati and also is a graduate of the NFA Executive Fire Officer program. He has served on numerous regional and state fire service committees in Ohio. Steve has participated as a member of numerous IFSTA manual validation committees, including committees for the 4th and 5th editions of Essentials of Fire Fighting.

The IFSTA Executive Board also voted unanimously to reappoint Connecticut State Fire Administrator Jeff Morrissette to a second three-year term as executive board chair. Jeff is a long-time IFSTA participant and has served multiple elected terms on the IFSTA Executive Board.