Dennis Compton

Fire Service Affiliate

Chief Dennis Compton was Fire Chief in Mesa, Arizona for six years and Assistant Fire Chief in Phoenix, Arizona, where he served for 28 years. Chief Compton has been Chairman of the IFSTA Executive Board and Chairman of the Congressional Fire Services Institute (CFSI) National Advisory Council (NAC), where he continues to represent IFSTA. Chief Compton served as the Chairman of the Board of the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation (NFFF) for more than a decade, and was also the Secretary of the International Public Safety Data Institute (IPSDI) Board of Directors.

Dennis is a well-known speaker and author. He has written many articles and chapters for publications, including his latest books: 1) Progressive Leadership Principles, Concepts, and Tools; and 2) Mental Aspects of Performance for Firefighters and Fire Officers. He continues to serve as an Executive Advisor for national, state, and local fire service and homeland security organizations.

Chief Compton has received the George D. Post National Fire Service Instructor of the Year Award, and the American Fire Sprinkler Association Fire Service Person of the Year. He was named the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year by the University of Phoenix, and received the coveted CFSI/Motorola Mason Lankford National Fire Service Leadership Award. Chief Compton has been the recipient of Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Metropolitan Fire Chiefs Association and the Arizona Fire Chiefs Association. He was a 2011 Inductee into the National Fire Heritage Center Hall of Legends, Legacies, and Leaders; and a 2018 Inductee into the Firehouse Legends and Icons National Hall of Fame. Chief Compton received the 2014 Dr. John Granito Award for Excellence in Fire Service Leadership and Management Research; the 2016 IAFC James O. Page EMS Achievement Award; and was recognized with the 2019 International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC) President’s Award. He is also a charter member of the Arizona Fire Service Hall of Fame.

Since 1978, Chief Compton has served on many IFSTA Validation Committees, including as Past Chairman of Chief Officer. Dennis was first elected to the IFSTA Executive Board in 1983 and continues to represent IFSTA on many national fire service projects, issues, and planning endeavors.


Please wait while we process your order.

This process may take a few seconds, please be patient.